Super GT reveals 44-car entry list for 2021 season

A entry list comprising a total of 44 cars has been revealed for the 2021 SUPER GT season.

This year’s grid will feature 15 cars in the top GT500 class, while the GT300 category will be made up of 29 cars, a reduction of one compared to last year.

The make-up of the GT500 grid for the 2021 campaign was already known, with manufacturers Toyota, Honda and Nissan having all announced their plans last month.

Toyota is once again fielding six GR Supras, making it the best represented marque in the senior class, while Honda enters five NSX-GTs and Nissan sticks to running four GT-Rs.

Bridgestone supplies tyres for the majority of the class – nine cars – versus a pair of entries each for rivals Michelin, Yokohama and Dunlop.

The Mugen Honda does not have a tyre maker named on the entry list, but ran with Dunlop rubber at a private test at Okayama at the start of this month.

GT500 class entry list:













 Ronnie Quintarelli

 Tsugio Matsuda

Kondo Racing



 Mitsunori Takaboshi

 Daiki Sasaki

Team Impul



 Nobuharu Matsushita

 Kazuki Hiramine

NDDP/B-Max Racing



 Kohei Hirate

 Katsumasa Chiyo


(GR Supra)












 Yuhi Sekiguchi

 Sho Tsuboi


 Ryo Hirakawa

 Sacha Fenestraz

Racing Project Bandoh



 Yuji Kunimoto

 Ritomo Miyata




 Heikki Kovalainen

 Yuichi Nakayama




 Hiroaki Ishiura

 Yuji Tachikawa

Rookie Racing



 Kazuya Oshima

 Kenta Yamashita







Team Kunimitsu



 Naoki Yamamoto

 Tadasuke Makino




 Tomoki Nojiri

 Nirei Fukuzumi

Team Mugen



 Toshiki Oyu

 Ukyo Sasahara

Nakajima Racing



 Takuya Izawa

 Hiroki Otsu

Real Racing



 Koudai Tsukakoshi

 Bertrand Baguette

More teams confirmed in GT300

In the GT300 ranks, a few additional entries have been confirmed by the publication of the entry list on top of those that had already been announced.

Among those, Team Mach (Toyota 86 MC), Team Studie (BMW M6 GT3), Team Hitotsuyama (Audi R8 LMS), R’Qs Motor Sports (Mercedes-AMG GT3) and the two-car JLOC Lamborghini Huracan squad will all be present on the grid this year.

GT300 Start Action

Photo by: Masahide Kamio

Subaru is also listed with its still yet-to-be officially unveiled 2021-spec BRZ, with Takuto Iguchi and Hideki Yamauchi both returning as drivers.

Ex-Formula 2 racer Giuliano Alesi is notably missing from the entry list, but is expected to have at least some involvement in the Team Thailand Lexus programme.

Michelin drops out of GT300

The entry list appears to confirm that Michelin will not be involved in the GT300 class this year, with Bridgestone, Yokohama and Dunlop set for a three-way tyre war. Yokohama will supply the bulk of the class with 19 cars, versus five apiece for Bridgestone and Dunlop.

Michelin supplied two cars in GT300 last year, the LM Corsa Lexus RC F GT3 and the D’station Racing Aston Martin Vantage GT3.

LM Corsa has switched to Dunlop for 2021 as it trades its Lexus for a Toyota GR Supra GT300, while D’station is not returning to SUPER GT following the dissolution of its partnership with Pacific Racing, which earlier on Thursday confirmed its 2021 plans.

As well as D’station, the Hong Kong-based X Works Audi team is also absent from the 2021 entry list, of last year’s GT300 teams.

Team Mach and JLOC are the only teams still to announce their drivers for the season.

The entry list also confirms that just two of the so-called ‘Mother chassis’ cars, which are based around a standard Dome chassis, are present: the Team Mach Toyota and the previously-confirmed Lotus Evora run jointly by Inging Motorsport and Cars Tokai Dream28.

However, the number of JAF GT300 cars has increased to six, with the remainder of the field (21 cars) being made up by FIA GT3 machinery.

A total of 12 brands will be represented in GT300 this year: Audi, BMW, Mercedes, Porsche, Toyota, Nissan, Honda, Subaru, Lotus, Lexus, Ferrari and Lamborghini. 

GT300 class entry list:

No. Team Car Tyre Drivers
2 Inging & Cars Tokai Dream28 Lotus Evora MC Bridgestone

 Hiroki Katoh

 Ryohei Sakaguchi

4 Goodsmile Racing with Team Ukyo Mercedes-AMG GT3 Yokohama

 Nobuteru Taniguchi

 Tatsuya Kataoka

5 Team Mach Toyota 86 MC Yokohama


6 Team LeMans with Motoyama Racing Audi R8 LMS Yokohama

 Satoshi Motoyama

 Yoshiaki Katayama

7 Team Studie BMW M6 GT3 Yokohama

 Seiji Ara

 Tomohide Yamaguchi

9 Pacific CarGuy Racing Ferrari 488 GT3 Yokohama

 Takeshi Kimura

 Kei Cozzolino

10 Gainer Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 Dunlop

 Kazuki Hoshino

 Keishi Ishikawa

11 Gainer Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 Dunlop

 Katsuyuki Hiranaka

 Hironobu Yasuda

18 Team UpGarage Honda NSX GT3 Yokohama

 Teppei Natori

 Takashi Kobayashi

21 Team Hitotsuyama Audi R8 LMS Yokohama

 Shintaro Kawabata

 Takuro Shinahara

22 R’Qs Motor Sports Mercedes-AMG GT3 Yokohama

 Hisashi Wada

 Masaki Jyonai

25 Team Tsuchiya Porsche 911 GT3 R Yokohama

 Takamitsu Matsui

 Kimiya Sato

30 apr Toyota Prius GHV GR Sport Yokohama

 Hiroaki Nagai

 Manabu Orido

31 apr Toyota Prius GHV GR Sport Bridgestone

 Yuhki Nakayama

 Koki Saga

34 Drago Corse Honda NSX GT3 Yokohama

 Ryo Michigami

 Shogo Mitsuyama

35 Team Thailand Lexus RC F GT3 Yokohama

 Sean Walkinshaw

 N. Hortongkum

48 NILZZ Racing Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 Yokohama

 Taiyou Iida

 Yuki Tanaka

50 Arnage Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 Yokohama

 Masaki Kano

 Masataka Yanagida

52 Saitama Toyopet Green Brave Toyota GR Supra GT300 Bridgestone

 Hiroki Yoshida

 Kohta Kawaai

55 ARTA Honda NSX GT3 Bridgestone

 Shinichi Takagi

 Ren Sato

56 Kondo Racing Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 Yokohama

 Kiyoto Fujinami

 Joao Paulo de Oliveira

60 LM Corsa Toyota GR Supra GT300 Dunlop

 Hiroki Yoshimoto

 Shunsuke Kohno

61 R&D Sport Subaru BRZ (2021) Dunlop

 Takuto Iguchi

 Hideki Yamauchi

65 LEON Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 Bridgestone

 Naoya Gamou

 Togo Suganami

87 JLOC Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Yokohama


88 JLOC Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Yokohama


96 K-Tunes Racing (LM Corsa) Lexus RC F GT3 Dunlop

 Morio Nitta

 Sena Sakaguchi

244 Max Racing  Toyota GR Supra GT300 Yokohama

 Yuui Tsutsumi

 Atsushi Miyake

360 RUNUP (Tomei Sports) Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 Yokohama

 Takayuki Aoki

 Atsushi Tanaka

Source: Read Full Article